Babar Azam, Shaheen Afridi amongst elite Pakistani cricketers to play in Nationwide T20 Cup

Pakistan’s fast-paced bowler Shaheen Shah Afrid (left) and skipper Babar Azam. — Twitter/File
  • Nationwide T20 is scheduled to be held September 23 to October 13.
  • The 18 Rawalpindi-leg matches might be performed on the Pindi Cricket Stadium until October 3.
  • Each semi-finals might be performed on October 12.

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday introduced the schedule and squads for the Nationwide T20 2021-22, which is scheduled to be held from September 23 to October 13.

It is going to be Babar Azam versus Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan versus Shadab Khan, Sharjeel Khan versus Naseem Shah, Fakhar Zaman versus Shahnawaz Dahani and Hasan Ali versus Imam-ul-Haq in the course of the matches.

In accordance with the assertion issued by the board, the 18 Rawalpindi-leg matches, which have been earlier deliberate for Multan, will now be performed on the Pindi Cricket Stadium until October 3, whereas Gaddafi Stadium will stay the venue of the remaining 15 matches that can begin on October 6.

Each semi-finals might be performed on October 12 with the primary match to begin at 3pm and the second match to start at 7:30pm.

The Nationwide T20 is a fiercely contested and extremely entertaining match. It not solely supplies alternatives to cricketers to stake claims on the nationwide facet, however main performers get an opportunity to be included within the PSL Participant Draft after which picked up by the franchises.

“The occasion beginning later this week has change into much more vital and demanding as members of the Pakistan squad for subsequent month’s ICC T20 World Cup might be in motion,” the assertion famous.

With every participant to get, at the very least, 10 matches, they’ll purpose to strike kind and health that may assist them be of their greatest form once they arrive within the UAE on October 15.

PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja mentioned: “Following the postponement of the New Zealand sequence, the Nationwide T20 supplies a chance to our elite cricketers to keep up their focus and composure, present the world that they haven’t been distracted by the occasions of final week and proceed with their preparations for the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup.”

“The participation of our most interesting cricketers within the Nationwide T20 will even improve the popularity, worth and significance of the match whereas offering the subsequent era of cricketers an opportunity to rub shoulders with the nationwide stars and study the artwork of making ready and performing on the highest degree.

“Along with your enthusiasm, needs and backing, Pakistan cricket will proceed to maneuver ahead. Pakistan Zindabad!” he added.

Nationwide T20 cup squads

Pakistan wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan will lead defending champions Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, runners-up Southern Punjab might be captained by hard-hitting top-order batter Sohaib Maqsood.

Babar Azam, Pakistan’s all-format captain and second-ranked T20I batsman, will captain Central Punjab and Pakistan’s ODI opener Imam-ul-Haq will lead Balochistan.

Sindh has stored religion in former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, whereas Pakistan white-ball vice-captain Shadab Khan might be accountable for Northern.

Babar Azam, Shaheen Afridi among elite Pakistani cricketers to play in National T20 Cup

Aside from Babar, Rizwan, Shadab and Sohaib, different members of the ICC T20 World Cup squad to function within the 33-match Nationwide T20 are Azam Khan, Khushdil Shah (each will play for southern Punjab), Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez (each purported to play for central Punjab), Imad Wasim (Northern), Mohammad Hasnain (Sindh), Asif Ali, Haris Rauf, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz (all Northern) and, Mohammad Wasim Jnr and Shaheen Shah Afridi (each will play for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa).

Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Shahnawaz Dahani (Sindh) and Usman Qadir (central Punjab) will even be in motion. They’ve been named because the travelling reserves.

In Balochistan’s squad, Mohammad Ibrahim Snr has changed Awais Zia, who withdrew from the Nationwide T20.

Schedule for Nationwide T20 matches

Nationwide T20 matches from September 23 to October 3 might be held on the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium; in the meantime, matches from October 6-13 might be performed on the Gaddafi Stadium.

The primary match will begin at 3pm, the second match to start at 7:30pm.

Babar Azam, Shaheen Afridi among elite Pakistani cricketers to play in National T20 Cup

The schedule for the matches is as follows:

23 Sep – Balochistan-Northern; Khyber Pakhtunkhwa-Central Punjab

24 Sep – Sindh-Southern Punjab; Balochistan-Central Punjab

25 Sep – Khyber Pakhtunkhwa-Southern Punjab; Sindh-Northern

26 Sep – Balochistan-Southern Punjab; Khyber Pakhtunkhwa-Central Punjab

29-Sep – Sindh-Balochistan; Northern-Southern Punjab

30 Sep – Northern-Central Punjab; Sindh-Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

1 Oct – Balochistan-Southern Punjab; Northern-Sindh

2 Oct – Balochistan-Khyber Pakhtunkhwa; Sindh-Central Punjab

3 Oct – Khyber Pakhtunkhwa-Northern; Southern Punjab- Central Punjab

6 Oct – Central Punjab-Sindh; Balochistan-Northern

7 Oct – Central Punjab-Southern Punjab; Balochistan-Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

8 Oct – Central Punjab-Northern; Southern Punjab-Sindh

9 Oct – Sindh-Khyber Pakhtunkhwa; Northern-Southern Punjab

10 Oct – Southern Punjab-Khyber Pakhtunkhwa; Balochistan-Central Punjab

11 Oct – Sindh-Balochistan; Northern-Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

12 Oct – No 1 staff vs No 4 staff; No 2 staff vs No 3 staff

13 Oct – Remaining

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button